This is the "Home" page of the "Pratt- Social Studies Research Project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Pratt- Social Studies Research Project   Tags: mrs. pratt, pratt, social studies, thomas jefferson  

Last Updated: Apr 8, 2016 URL: http://libguides.slrsd.org/prattresearch Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

@Databases

QUALITY ARTICLES In Our Database Library
  
 
Use these databases at home with the password list available at the library circulation desk

Hint: The password for the link above is the ABC-CLIO password.

 

ABC-CLIO 

Annals of American History

Biography in Context

Gale Complete Database Library

Gale Database Collection


Gale Virtual Reference Collection-eBook Library

NBC Learn  See library staff for activation code

Student Research in Context 

U.S. History in Context

      
     

    @SLRHS Print Resouces

    Use the SLRHS Library Online Catalog---Destiny to locate books on your topic.

    Cover Art
    The Political Writings of Thomas Jefferson - Merrill D. Peterson (Editor); Thomas Jefferson
    Call Number: 320 JEF
    ISBN: 1882886011
    Publication Date: 2002-02-25

     

    @SLRHS eBooks

    eBooks are available through ABC-CLIO, Gale Virtual Reference Library, and Destiny.

    Cover Art
    Dictionary of American History - Stanley I. Kutler
    ISBN: 9780684805337
    Publication Date: 2002-12-11

    Important Dates

    Periods 1 & 6 (CP 1) Due Dates

    March 11th:       1. Pre-write (15 points)- Minimum of one page, typed, no citations necessary, General response or information related to the topic/question posed above

                                  2. Parent/Guardian & Student Assignment Deadline/Research Manual signed policy (10 points)

     

    March 16th:    Topic & Preliminary Thesis (20 points subject to approval)

     

    March 21st:   Thesis must be approved by this day, if not already (points awarded upon approval)

     

    March 24th:   Annotated Bibliography (20 points)

     

    April 1st:         Outline (50 points)

     

    April 8th:        Rough Draft including bibliography, footnotes, and title page (50 points)

     

    April 29th:     Final Draft due by 2:00pm (100 points)

     

    Periods 3, 5 & 7 (CP 2) Due Dates

    March 14th: 1. Pre-write (15 points)- Minimum of one page, typed, no citations necessary, General response or information related to the topic/question posed above

    2. Parent/Guardian & Student Assignment Deadline/Research Manual signed policy (10 points)

     

    March 18th:    Topic & Preliminary Thesis (20 points subject to approval)

     

    March 24st:   Thesis must be approved by this day, if not already (points awarded upon approval)

     

    March 30th:   Annotated Bibliography (20 points)

     

     

    April 4th:        Outline (50 points)

     

    April 14th:      Rough Draft including bibliography, footnotes, and title page (50 points)

     

    May 9th:     Final Draft due by 2:00pm (100 points)

     

        

      Overview

      Name: Mrs. Pratt / U.S. History Research Essay

      Structured Research Essay

      Final Paper Due Date: April 29, 2016 Periods 1 & 6 (CP 1)

                                                   May 9, 2016 Periods 3, 5 & 7 (CP 2)

      100 Points

      I. Overview

      Topic- Many great names in American history are closely connected with an idea or an event—George Washington and the American Revolution, Abraham Lincoln and the Civil War, Martin Luther King Jr. and the Civil Rights movement. Thomas Jefferson’s name is tied very closely to democracy, but is it historically fair and accurate to do so?

       

      In a structured research paper you will make a final summary judgment of Jefferson. In the final analysis, should Jefferson be considered an American hero or an American villain? Overall, did he move the country towards democracy?  Is it reasonable to argue that in some areas he did and in others he did not? Is it even possible that some of his actions may have been both democratic and undemocratic at the same time?

       

      A research paper is a written report that presents the results of a specific and in-depth study of a topic. You will choose a prompt, gather information about the topic from several different sources, and then present the information in an organized way with an original thesis. This assignment will take place incrementally over the course of the next month to allow for very careful attention to be given to the process of conducting historical research and writing original history. Careful attention will be made to how you write and how well you support your thesis.

      II. Length & Format

      Your paper must be 8 or more paragraphs (approximately 3-4 pages). This does not include the title page, bibliography or footnotes. All assignments leading up to and including the final paper must be typed, double spaced, size 12, in Times New Roman font. In addition to meeting all of the requirements outlined in the rubric and Social Studies Research Paper Manual, I expect your paper to have:

      ü  Vivid and clear language

       

      ü  Structure that makes sense

       

      ü  Topic sentence clearly connects to the paragraph

       

      ü  Contains historical evidence to support thesis

       

      ü  Effective, eloquent and grammatically sound sentences

       

      ü  Does not have any annoying syntactical or grammatical habits

       

      ü  Strong conclusion

       

      III. Thesis Statement

      A thesis statement clearly presents the main idea your research will present. A thesis statement narrows your research and shapes your writing.  It may include words from the prompt, as in the following example:

                  Prompt: In what ways was Franklin D. Roosevelt’s presidency unique?

       

                  Thesis: Franklin D. Roosevelt exercised brilliant leadership in dealing with a

                              number of crisis that faced the United States.

      For more information on how to construct a thesis statement refer to pages 5-8 of the Social Studies Department Research Manual.

       

      IV. Sources

      You will need to incorporate a minimum of six sources. To begin your research, use the textbook and any handouts or notes from class. Please note that your textbook will not count as a source. I will provide you with a selection of sources which you may use in your paper. Copies and/or links to these sources are also available by accessing the LibGuide for this project on the Silver Lake Regional High School Library website. You are also encouraged to perform independent research to find sources beyond those provided.

       

      At least three of your sources must be primary sources. For more information on where to locate reputable sources and the difference between primary and secondary sources refer to pages 9 – 13 in the Social Studies Department Research Manual.

       

      All sources must be cited using the Chicago Manual of Style.  For more information on how to cite your sources (bibliography and footnotes) refer to pages 15-19 in the Social Studies Department Research Manual. Websites such as ABC-CLIO often provide a bibliography for you. Imagine Easy Scholar is an excellent online citation resource that is available to you through the school library website. We will discuss accessing “Scholar” in more detail during class.  

       

      V. Grading & Due Dates

      Your grade will be based on your effort during the research and writing process as well as a final paper grade.  Grades will appear on your Term 3 and Term 4 report cards.

       

      The final paper is due by the end of the school day (2:00pm) on the date noted above. If a paper is not submitted on time, you will lose 5 points for every day it is late. In the event that you are unexpectedly absent on the day it is due, make arrangements to have the paper dropped off by the end of the school day or email it to cpratt@slrsd.org as an attachment. All assignments are due on the day indicated below even if class does not meet that day! Assignments other than the final research paper will only receive half the credit earned if they are passed in one day late. After that, the assignment must be completed but you will not receive points for your work. You must complete each prior assignment and pass it in to Mrs. Pratt in order to receive credit on the next assignment due. (i.e. you must complete a pre-write before you can pass in a thesis statement. I will not accept your thesis statement until I have received your pre-write. I will not accept your Annotated Works cited until your thesis has been approved. And so forth…)

      Periods 1 & 6 (CP 1) Due Dates

      March 11th:       1. Pre-write (15 points)- Minimum of one page, typed, no citations necessary, General response or information related to the topic/question posed above

                                    2. Parent/Guardian & Student Assignment Deadline/Research Manual signed policy (10 points)

       

      March 16th:    Topic & Preliminary Thesis (20 points subject to approval)

       

      March 21st:   Thesis must be approved by this day, if not already (points awarded upon approval)

       

      March 24th:   Annotated Bibliography (20 points)

       

      April 1st:         Outline (50 points)

       

      April 8th:        Rough Draft including bibliography, footnotes, and title page (50 points)

       

      April 29th:     Final Draft due by 2:00pm (100 points)

       

      Periods 3, 5 & 7 (CP 2) Due Dates

      March 14th: 1. Pre-write (15 points)- Minimum of one page, typed, no citations necessary, General response or information related to the topic/question posed above

      2. Parent/Guardian & Student Assignment Deadline/Research Manual signed policy (10 points)

       

      March 18th:    Topic & Preliminary Thesis (20 points subject to approval)

       

      March 24st:   Thesis must be approved by this day, if not already (points awarded upon approval)

       

      March 30th:   Annotated Bibliography (20 points)

       

       

      April 4th:        Outline (50 points)

       

      April 14th:      Rough Draft including bibliography, footnotes, and title page (50 points)

       

      May 9th:     Final Draft due by 2:00pm (100 points)

       

       



          

        EasyBib

        Sign up for your FREE EasyBib account.  
        See Ms. Redding or your Social Studies Teacher for the coupon code.

        EasyBib Logo

        EasyBib is an intuitive information literacy platform that provides citation, note taking, and research tools that are easy-to-use and educational. EasyBib is not only accurate, fast, and comprehensive, but helps educators teach and students learn how to become effective and organized researchers. 

        From any SLRHS computer you can sign up for you own free account.  Just go to www.easybib.com.  From home, use the coupon code found on the password list you can get from the library.  

         

        SLRHS Social Studies Department Research Guide

         

        Destiny-SLRHS Online Catalog

        https://silverlake.follettdestiny.com 

        Find:
        Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
        Advanced Search
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip