This is the "Home" page of the "World War I" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

World War I  

Last Updated: Jan 20, 2016 URL: http://libguides.slrsd.org/ww1 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

@SLRHS Library Online

 QUALITY ARTICLES In Our Database Library
   
 Use these databases at home with the password list available at the library circulation desk

ABC-CLIO 
Biography in Content
Gale Database Library
NBC Learn 

Student Research in Context 
U.S. History in Context
World History in Context

      
     

    @SLRHS Library ebooks

    Here is a sampling of some of our ebooks.  Use the standard Laker password to access.  eBooks are also available through ABC-CLIO, Gale Virtual Reference Library, and Destiny.

    Cover Art
    History in Dispute: World War I - Dennis E. Showalter (Editor)
    Call Number: ebook
    ISBN: 9781558624146
    Publication Date: 2002-03-08
    his volume covers World War I. Provides students with an enhanced understanding of events only summarized in history texts, helps stimulate critical thinking and provides ideas for papers and assignments.

    Cover Art
    World War I - UXL Staff (Contribution by)
    Call Number: eBook
    ISBN: 0787654760
    Publication Date: 2001-10-22
    Covers major topics related to the period, including the roots of the war; causes of U.S. involvement; the Espionage Act and Sedition Act; weapons of mass destruction; and more. Profiles the major players of the period, including Woodrow Wilson, Kaiser Wilhelm II, John Pershing, and Henri-Philippe Petain. Presents full or excerpted primary source materials, including diaries, speeches, letters, journals and memoirs.

    World War I

    I want you for the U.S. Army nearest recruiting station / James Montgomery Flagg

    Photo Credit:
    I want you for the U.S. Army nearest recruiting station, James Montfomery Flagg
    LOC Photographs and Prints Division. Reproduction Number LC-3859

    World War I Overview

    Click above link to read an ABC-CLIO article on World War I.

        

      Ms Fogarty's Class Research Assignment

      1. Based on the conditions from 1900-1914 in Europe, was WWI inevitable? Think about the contributing factors such as militarism, alliances, imperialism and nationalism.
      1. Based on the causes and events of WWI, was the Treaty of Versailles an appropriate consequence for Germany?  Consider Germany’s role in the outbreak of the war, its actions during the war, and conditions and events in Germany up to 1914.
          

        Scholar

        SLRHS Social Studies Department Research Guide

        EasyBib

         Log in or sign up for your EasyBib account using this link.  EasyBib

        Your first time signing up you will need to enter the coupon code given by Ms. Fogarty

        Coupon Code Hint: It is the last name in lower case of one of your teachers.

         

        @SLRHS Library--Print Resources

        Use Destiny the library catalog to locate books on your topic. We have many books dealing with World War I topics.
        Library staff is available to help you with your research. There is a cart of books on reserve for your class.

        Cover Art
        The Treaty of Versailles - Louise Chipley Slavicek
        ISBN: 1604132779
        Publication Date: 2010-01-01
        In January 1919, following the defeat of the German-led Central Powers in World War I, delegates from the victorious Allied nations gathered in Paris to try to forge an enduring peace for the postwar world. In The Treaty of Versailles, read how leaders struggled to deal with the aftermath following the War to End All Wars.

        Cover Art
        Weapons and Technology of World War II - Paul Dowswell
        Call Number: 940.4 DOW
        ISBN: 1588106624
        Publication Date: 2002-01-01

        Cover Art
        World War I - UXL Staff (Contribution by)
        Call Number: 940.3 PEN
        ISBN: 0787654760
        Publication Date: 2001-10-22
        This resource presents comprehensive coverage of the World War I period.

        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip